Posted by on January 24, 2017
Categories: Bay Area


(BANT) – Gov. Jerry Brown has declared a state of emergency for counties in the Bay Area and across the state due to severe winter storms.

According to officials in the governor’s office, Gov. Brown issued two emergency proclamations to secure funding that will support communities affected by inclement weather.

The state of emergency includes Alameda, Contra Costa, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma counties. The emergency proclamations were issued due to storms in December and January.

The proclamations will direct Caltrans to formally request immediate assistance through the Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief Program. They will also direct the Office of Emergency Services to provide assistance to local governments.