Posted by on June 22, 2017
Categories: Bay Area


(BANT) – California Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced a prohibition on state-funded and state-sponsored travel to four U.S. states today during a news conference in San Francisco.

Since March Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota and Texas have all enacted legislation that discriminates against their residents on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity, according to Becerra.

“I am announcing today that I am adding four states to the list of states where California-funded or sponsored travel will be restricted on account of the discriminatory nature of laws enacted by those states,” Becerra said in a statement.

“Our country has made great strides in dismantling prejudicial laws that have deprived too many of our fellow Americans of their precious rights,” he said. “Sadly, that is not the case in all parts of our nation, even in the 21st century.”

Under Assembly Bill 1887, which went into effect Jan. 1, state agencies, departments, boards, authorities and commissions are prohibited from sending personnel on state-funded, state sponsored travel to states with laws authorizing or requiring discrimination against the LGBT community.

“These discriminatory laws in Texas, North Carolina, North Dakota and other states are completely out of step with the values that make California the vibrant economic powerhouse that it is,” Executive Director of Equality California Rick Zbur said in a statement.